Return to the Community Gardens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Soil tests, ammending soil, support web-sites

Posted by
Harriet - 9 or 9a
(GardnOasis@aol.com) on
Sat, Aug 7, 99 at 23:43

This is my first year as Garden Coordination for a garden that is also in it's first year. I work with health administrators and teachers and am twisting in the wind on some of these subjects everyone thinks I have at my fingertips. (losing my hair by the fistful!!)

I have recently begun testing our soil: PH level, phosphorus, nitrogen and potassium. The instruction booklet doesn't even begin to detail the whats and how-tos of amending. Which is fine, really. I'd rather find it in a dedicated plant arena than a chemical or non-gardening arena.

So, do you know any good sites which include specific plants' soil and/or nutrient requirements??

Beyond that, what sites do you love to supplement your community gardening work with??

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Soil tests, ammending soil, support web-sites

Have you been to the Organic forum? Lots of great feedback there and some very informed gardeners. Many of them have a great sense of 'community' as well. I live in a co-operative housing complex and always get lots of great responses to related questions that I post on that forum.

Dawn G.

o

The best thing you can do for your soil is to decompose organic matter into it. Set up a compost program. Encourage mulching.

o

Getting organic matter decomposing into your soil is the best thing you can do. Compost and mulch. Does your garden make compost? If you have enough organic matter in your soil, N-P-K etc. takes care of care of itself.

o

It takes a while to organically ammend your soil. Patience, however, is not a strong point for teachers, who often look at a garden or environmental center for immediate produce. I know. I am the Environmental Center Coordinator at my school.