(newentrt@aol.com) on
Tue, Oct 19, 99 at 16:53

Hi, i am a high school student in Los Angeles. We are doing a
senior project which we are going to redevelope a hill right across our high
school. Our theme is to have more community involvement in helping our
education. We are planning to expand our high school which is woodrow wilson
high school. in out community, we lack important elements that we need for a
better education such as a descent library, recreaton center, and area where
we can have our biology department can conduct experiments and projects. We are interested in building a community garden too to bring the community closer together. We are hoping to build all that but we have no idea on how are we going to do it or how much the cost will be. Hopefully you can assist us in our project
which is of great importance because if we have a good proposal, the city
might even consider of doing it. Thank you for your time a patients. hope to
hear from you soon.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: i need your help

Try getting the media involved - the more exposure the better. Might also contact some of the gardening clubs to see if they'd "adopt" or sponsor your cause. Volunteer your services to the community, beautification, assisting elderly; anything that will give you positive feedback. Good luck, Ann

o

Check with your county's agriculture extension office. They may be sponsoring a Master Gardeners' program. If so, then they local Master Gardeners may be able to help you. The telephone listing for the extension office may be hard to find, ask your school or public librarian for help. The local Habitat for Humanity may also be able to help you get started. Are there businesses in the area? Many businesses offer partnerships to local schools, with not only money but also other forms of assistance for such projects.
GOOD LUCK!

o