Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sophiagabriella

new to community gardens

SophiaGabriella
18 years ago

I'm a student at Warren-Wilson College in North Carolina, and have recently begun to put together a community gardens program within our vegetable garden. It's slowly taking hold with some grant money, resources and infrastructure but I have lots of questions about how to make it truly work.

I would love some advice.

1. In the past, the community gardens have been taken over by the few individuals who really know how to garden. show I encourage good gardeners by allowing them bigger plots or should I continue giving plots out to beginners even if I doubt their commitment? mainly students have neglected their plots while faculty expand.

2. Is there any way to clearly mark the boundaries of plot? I would like to build a box around each one, creating a permanent raised bed that would look tidy and encourage the owner to keep it so. what materials would I use?

I appreciate the help! thanks!

Comment (1)

• hagey
    18 years ago

Sophia,
    We volunteer at the Community Gardens in the Lansing, Michigan area. Our volunteer hours for this past year (both combine) was 620 hours.

1. All people who sign up for a Community Garden is given a 25 X 25 plot. However, if any extra gardens are left people can have extra 25 X 25 plots. Each garden is staked off and a string is tied to the stakes.There are paths on all sides of the plot.
      There are people that take great pride in their gardens and others do a hit miss job. We have helped some that have been sick, out of town on their job, and other things that they cannot keep them up. During the winter we are in Florida and they have a system where people are notified to clean up their garden or it will be taken away from them after two weeks. However, it depends also on why it has not been kept us, and that is what they try to do in MI.