Return to the Companion Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Lilac Shrub Companions?

Posted by telamin z5 OH (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 8, 05 at 13:48

Greetings fellow gardners

I have a mature lilac shrub in my backyard. It's easily ten feet tall and blooms nicely, but looks rather lonely since it has no companion plants in the nearby vicinity. If you could please send me suggestions for good companion plants that grow well in central ohio (either zone 5b or 5, depending on which map you use), it would be much appreciated.

Some helpful info: 1) i'm a novice gardener, this is barely my second year at gardening; 2) i have a dog who likes to lay nearby because the shrub gives great shade coverage in the middle of the summer; and 3) the shrub is located along my north eastern property line.

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions

telamin

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Lilac Shrub Companions?

I think that lily-of-the-valley, Convallaria majalis, would look lovely in the shade of your lilac, and it's easy to grow. The plant is considered poisonous, however, so if your doggie likes to nibble on random things in the garden, I would find something else. :) My animals don't nibble on anything but the grass, so I'm lucky not to have that problem.

Have fun with your new thumb, telamin! :)

Brenda

Here is a link that might be useful: lily-of-the-valley

o
RE: Lilac Shrub Companions?

Perhaps a large mulched bed with another variety of Lilac nearby; one that blooms at a slightly different time to extend the show. Lilacs are lime-lovers, so lime well, and dont ad acid-lovers to the bed. You'll still need to get close to the flowers for sniffing and pruning purposes, so add a few step stones and maybe some Lavender (which is another lime-lover), Forget-me-nots and Thymes. Mulch the areas in between, and you can ad more later... such as Daffodils and other Spring bulbs. I have done this along my privacy fence. Robin in NC

o Post a Follow-Up