Return to the Companion Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Roses around the corner from tomatoes?

Posted by courey z5 NC (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 18, 05 at 12:31

Him, my name is Courey, and I'm a space packer.

;)

I have about 10 tomato plants that need to go in the front of my porch so I can stake them there without worry. I grew them there last year and they did great. The dilema enters the equation with the new Climbing Peace I just bought. The only place it'll get adequate sun and support once I hang tressis is around the corner from the tomatoes up front. The base of the two plants would be about 2 feet away from each other. Apart from looking somewhat eclectic, are the rose and the tomato going to fight for nutrients?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Roses around the corner from tomatoes?

I'm no expert but the first year I gardened, when I knew practically nothing, I put a tomato plant on either side of a rose. Not a climber, but I don't know if it matters. The roses did fine, the tomatoes were delicious, and I enjoy being eclectic! The rose is still there and where the tomatoes were are now a society garlic and a Mexican Mint Marigold, which means I have to find another spot for this year's tomatoes. And of course, I won't hesitate to put them near my roses. I'll be watching this thread to see what others have to say also. Good luck!

o

Thanks for the response! I had to go ahead and plant that climber this past weekend, it was starting to look droopy sitting in its bucket. :p Hoping for the best... it's encouraging to hear that you've had success with that scenario in the past!

o

Yes, I certainly did! And, I've never understood why it has to be a "vegetable" garden or a "flower" garden. Mine's just a garden. Roses and garlic and herbs, oh my! Do let me know how your tomatoes and their thorny neighbors do!

o