Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheila_georgiapeach

Companions for Watermelon?

I am planting a couple of Sugar Babies watermelons and a couple of Jubilee watermelons this year and would like to plant some companion plants with them. The Sugar Babies I am planning to run their vine up the garden fence, and the Jubilee won't be on the fence. I am new to growing watermelons, and am inter-planting and companion planting this year to repel nasty insects. These are the other plants I am planting: Pole Beans, Tomatoes, Squash, Lettuce, Broccoli, Bell pepper, Chives Garlic, Onions, Basil, Dill, Carrots,Spearmint, Cabbage, Sunflowers, Sea Pinks, Maiden Pinks,Verbenas, Marigold, Achilles, Snapdragons, Moss Roses.I pretty well know what companions to plant with most of my other vegetables, but I can hardly find any information on companion plants for watermelons. I would appreciate the benefit of anyone else's experience.

Thank you,

Sheila

Comments (10)

• apouliot
    20 years ago

Indians planted watermelon like squash between hills of corn. Some people planted them in between four hills in groups of 1, 4 or 6 seeds. Some planted them in the same hill as the corn, as follows - corn in the center, beans in middle and squash/watermelon at bottom.

I have grown watermelon in between hills of corn many times and have had great success.

• Sheila_GeorgiaPeach
    Original Author
    20 years ago

I am planting squash and beans, but not corn. Do you think that sunflowers would be OK to plant between watermelons instead of corn? They grow tall like corn.
    Sheila

• captaincompostal
    20 years ago

Yes.

Corn, beans, peas, sunflowers, white potatoes, squash, melons, cucumbers, and pumpkins are all good companions from the classic "3 sisters" technique from the Native Americans: Corn, bean, and squash families.

• calli1061
    15 years ago