Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coachjohnsonlp

Picea abies seed germination

coachjohnsonlp
10 years ago

First post to the form. I am very new at germinating conifer seeds. I collected a bunch of seeds from various spruce and pine trees but mostly picea abies. I was wondering how much and how son to provide direct light. I just ran a germination test with 25 seeds and all 25 seeds germinates in a hydrofoam seedling tray. I have them heated currently to 73-75 degrees and most of the seedlings have shed their seeds and are about 1-1.5 inches tall. How much light should they be exposed to at this time? I have a 350 watt 6500K cfl bulb I got from my photographer buddy and have been giving them indirect light in my basement for about 8 hours a day. I was also wondering when an appropriate time to start fertilizing would be. I am a real newbie but have been fascinated with this amazing process. Any advice would be much appreciated!!!! I also have 15 germinated Sequoiadendron giganteum seeds from a batch of 30 that I got for 2 bucks on ebay. I sowed them after they showed radicals using the paper towel method. My fear is now that I have had decent success germinating a couple of different seeds that I will mess things up now......

Comments (19)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

hey coach.. welcome .... i dont know what i can teach a 'coach' .. lol ...

now that I have had decent success germinating a couple of different seeds that I will mess things up now......

==>>> yeah.. isnt that the truth.. you succeeded wildly at the easy part ... lol ..

indirect light.. is not enough.. in any way ...

and i dont know anything about your fancy lightbulb ...