Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kday72

Juniper vs. Microbiota

kday72
11 years ago

We recently bought a property that has huge juniper bushes scattered along our southern and western border. At the highest point they are 8' or more tall and in several places 8' or more deep. We have some bare patches along the border and I was thinking about trying to transplant some of the new shoots into the bare spaces. I'm new to gardening though and am not sure if this is possible or a good idea. I've read it can be done but I've also read that they are invasive, to get them out of your landscape and to go with Microbiota instead as they are not invasive or prickly. Our junipers are still green but it's been a mild winter so not sure if this is the norm. Any experience, thoughts, etc. would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (23)

• Sara Malone Zone 9b
    11 years ago

There are many different junipers...some turn color in winter, some do not, some are upright, some prostrate, some are prickly some not, some are green, some blue, etc etc. Microbiota is monotypic; the genus only has one species, Microbiota decussata, and no named cultivars. So what you see is what you get, and they reliably turn brown in winter and do not get 8' tall, as their growth habit is spreading. In some climates Microbiota does better with some shade. I'll let someone closer to you give you more detail. Good luck!

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

first.. we need to start with an ID ... pix here can get you such.. especially if you can add a pic of a cone

if its the one at the link.. its native and highly invasive .. and when i use that term.. i mean birds spread it EVERYWHERE .... hence the reason they are probably growing around the non-mowed part of your property ... [BTW.. if you simply stop mowing the blank parts.. i would bet in 5 years.. it will be covered with more juniper .. the lazy mans solution.. lol]