Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
firefightergardener

Conifer companion plants

So of course most conifer nuts out there are mostly interested in painting their own conifer tapestries on their land but there are many very beautiful plants that when used properly, can really 'set off' your conifers and overall setting.

While I am relatively new to the hobby, I do have some experience mixing in companion plants and these are some I plan on mixing in here and there amongst my conifers:

Japanese Maples. If you live in zone 5+, this should be a serious conisderation. Few shrubs/trees can match the color and unique look of a Japanese maple. Often some of the best cultivars are as spectacular in Spring as they are in Fall and some varieties really look fantastic for eight months of the year. Some of the 'weeping' or 'dissectum' types also tend to have tremendous structural habits that can be interesting all winter. Keeping the list as short as I can, some cultivars that are amazing are Acer Palmatum 'Shishigashira', 'Katsura', 'Shin deshojo', 'Vics Broom', Goshiki Kotohime', 'Ukigumo', 'Oridono Nishiki', Acer Shirasawanum 'Auream' and 'Autumn Moon' and Acer Japonica 'Aconitifolium'. I could post a handful of photos if there was enough interest.

One word of caution, collecting Japanese maples can become addicting as well and since they are usually large shrubs or trees, having more then a few dozen on your property might crowd an already crowded situation.

Heathers(Calluna). These smallish, ground hugging shrubs are usually evergreen and offer a unique palate of colors in a small spot for conifer companion plants. Anyone who has seen 'Bluespruce' post one of his many old shots of his property can remember the dramatic effect some of the more bold coloring heathers can have on your landscape. I am no expert in the varieties, but apparently there are a ton of different ones. Perhaps someone with more expertise here could recommend a half dozen or so for us newbies.