Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garen59

Picea pungens '?' with long needles

Garen Rees
11 years ago

This tree is located in front of a Municipal Utilities building just down the street from where I work. It's got to be the most beautiful pungens that I have seen in person. It is so dense like a fluffy, fat, blue cloud. The needles seem longer than any pungens that I am familiar with but I am a noob. Average needle length measured 1 1/4 inch ( a little over 3cm). I wanted to see if anyone here new what cultivar it might be. I compared it with online pictures of 'Fat Albert' and 'Hoopsii' but it just doesn't look the same to me.

This first picture is of an ordinary pungens on the other side of the building for comparison. Normal short needles
{{gwi:632602}}

This is the pungens in question. The needles may look even longer because of my small hands so I added the pen.
{{gwi:632603}}

A few pics of the rest of the tree.
{{gwi:632604}}

{{gwi:632605}}

{{gwi:632606}}

I will have to learn to graft because I want this one. Now where can I find some pungens root stock this time of year?

Comments (22)

• tunilla
    11 years ago

P. pungens 'Edith' comes to mind, but that's just a guess ... T.

• maple_grove_gw
    11 years ago

Hi Garen

For comparison, here are some pics of Hoopsi foliage I found online...

{{gwi:632607}}

{{gwi:632608}}

This post was edited by maple_grove on Thu, Jan 17, 13 at 21:21

• kbguess
    11 years ago

Garen,

I really like the spruce, but I can't help you with the ID.

If you are wanting to graft this winter, I would suggest ordering Picea glauca in a plant band from Itasca Greenhouse (only spruce that they have in stock in PB this winter). They don't have a minimum order and since you are in the midwest, the shipping differential will probably be substantial compared to a westcoast grower.

Keith

Here is a link that might be useful: Itasca Greenhouse availability

• dietzjm
    11 years ago