Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dietzjm

Picea mariana 'Eagle Creek'

dietzjm
12 years ago

Hey guys,

I was walking around our property in northern Wisconsin today and found an awesome Picea mariana that was situated at the edge of a swamp overlooking Eagle Creek. The tree is about 4 feet tall and it appears to grow about 3 inches a year. I'll let the pictures do the talking:

Without flash:

{{gwi:635581}}

With flash:

{{gwi:635584}}

Close up of the light blue-green needles:

{{gwi:635587}}

What do you all think? I'd like to get it grafted but I've never done it before.

Matt

Comments (27)

• firefightergardener
    12 years ago

An instant classic. You'll do well to propogate it, observe and then hopefully name/register it someday.

• dietzjm
    Original Author
    12 years ago

This is on most of the lower branches. Any ideas as to what it could be?

{{gwi:635590}}

{{gwi:635594}}

How do I go about getting it grafted? Should I send it to somebody?

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

it looks so fake... otherwise.. way cool form ...

pollen sacks???

ken

• fotisr
    12 years ago

Absolutely AMAZING form! I could certainly find a place in my garden for this! When Edwin comes back from the US, he will be astonished with this find! Please get it propagated so, maybe in 3-4 years, we could have it in Europe as well...

Best regards,
    Fotis

• harv2016
    12 years ago

Picea mariana is one of my favorite spuce groups but so few cultivars compared to pungens and abies. This plant would be a welcome addition.

• Cher
    12 years ago

Great looking conifer. I'd love to have something like that with it being so slow growing. Why don't you talk to Dax about doing some grafts on it for you? Hopefully he responds and you two can get together to discuss it.
    Cher

• kbguess
    12 years ago