Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
olreader

is this an interesting pine?

olreader
10 years ago

If it's even a pine, looks like one to me. but much more sparse that the others in my neighborhood.

Comments (13)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

reminds me of strobus.. with its strong 2 to 3 foot leader growth between whorls ... obviously cant see how many needles are in a bundle ....

but other than that.. i am no ID expert ...

what makes it interesting... is that its missing half of its branches on the right side ... notice those two whorls.. just above the fence.. are missing some ...

this is what i would call.. a FOREST tree ... aka a telephone pole tree.. give 40 to 60 years ...

with that growth rate.. it wont be long.. before the homeowner will be paying big bucks to have it removed ... its way to aggressive for most suburban backyards ....

if for no other reason.. that some wet snow or ice storm ... breaks off the top... and then you will have multiple leaders at height ... which i am surprised it doesnt have from the last storm.. that probably bent in in half ....

and if you mean interesting.. in being so ... AIRY ... yeah.. i am with you on that ..

i think we have enabled you sufficiently.. to start really looking at trees and conifers around you ... have the spouse hide the credit cards and checkbook.. or you will soon be spending money.. lol .. but dont buy a common pine

ken

ps: most of these forest trees.. found in suburban gardens... are forced on us by schools on arbor day/earth day/whatever .. or carp plants sent by arbor day ... somehow.. all the ones my kids brought home .. died.... mysteriously ... lol ... so i took them to a good nursery.. and had them pick out a real treasure ... and then those died.. oh never mind....

• olreader
    Original Author
    10 years ago