Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ritmatt_gw

Dwarf Conifers as Screens?

ritmatt
11 years ago

I'm new to conifers, but I'm blown away by some of the beautiful photos that have been posted here on the Conifers forum. Ken, Dave, and others - nice job!

I'd like to try a few here in Georgia zone 7b. I'm thinking of planting a small conifer garden in sunny spot around a backyard fire pit. The trees would serve as a wind screen, a visual screen, and conversation pieces. They'd be at least 12 feet from the fire, so I don't think they'd be in any danger of heat or flames. I'd like to pick some specimens that are fairly unique and interesting, but also reasonably easy to grow and maintain. Oh, and they must be deer resistant. We have lots and lots of deer (though they rarely come into the yard, due to our deer-chasing dog).

Any suggestions?

Comments (6)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

They'd be at least 12 feet from the fire

==>> that depends if you build fire like i do.. or like dad used to.. lol ...

thx for the nice comments ...

i can NOT speak to GA ... nor deer ... my usual suggestion is to find a local arboretum .. or join the ACS and get the directory.. and track down local collectors ... [actually.. do both] ..

all i can show you is my fire saucer.. the see-ment pad.. and distance ... which is less than 4 feet ...

{{gwi:211254}}

do note.. that mine is very close to the house.. and placed in a situation.. wherein.. deer would NEVER come this close to the house ....

so if you are going to design something.. think about a nice seating area close to the house.. you can still have your bonfires way out back ... but i suggest you keep your collection closer ...

there's all kinds of tricks for mail order.. and PROPER planting ... ask and ye shall receive answers ...

good luck .. and do let us help you with the process ...

ken