Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jablom

picea glauca turning brown

jablom
10 years ago

Hey Everyone,

Im new here so go easy on me.

We recently bought a picea glauca and it was doing fine indoors, about 2 weeks ago we put it outside and it has started to turn brown. See picture.

Im getting some abuse from the wife because she said the sun is causing it and we should have left it indoors.

Ive checked for spider mites and i dont see anything, its watered every 2nd day right now because the weather is very hot and it gets about 6 hours of afternoon sun.

Any ideas what is causing this and how to fix?

Thanks.

Comments (8)

• slama.wbgarden
    10 years ago

Hello, I am not a professional, only hobby gardener, but this fungus destroyed me perhaps more than fifty dwarf spruces.
    Dense died first. You have to use fungicides that contain strobilurines. In my country Czech rep. Europe -amistar, ortiva, zato etc ...
    Jan Slama wbgarden

{{gwi:656416}}

• slama.wbgarden
    10 years ago

More images ...

Jan Slama wbgarden

Here is a link that might be useful: wbgarden

• mikebotann
    10 years ago

Where do you live and how long this winter was it inside?
    Looks like a Dwarf Alberta Spruce. They are hosts to a whole set of problems which usually can be solved with a little knowledge of their likes and dislikes.
    Mike

• jablom
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Looks eerily similar to that slama, but i don't think its fungus.

Live in Melbourne, Australia and the plant was inside since we bought it, it hasnt seen a winter yet since its fairly new. Winter here is June-August.

Temps here over the last 3-4 weeks have reached 45 Celsius, and it looks burnt more than anything but can you burn trees with sunlight?

I was also reading that it may be stress?

Also its only like this on 1 side and i did rotate the tree several times to get an even amount of sun.

Any solutions you can recommend mikebotann?

Her is another pic