Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garen59

Fine Textured Mulch?

Garen Rees
12 years ago

I know I probably should have posted this in another forum but I like everyone here and trust your opinions most especially since most of my garden is dedicated to conifers.

So while I was at work today I had a pile of regular brown mulch delivered from the local garden supply to my house. I arrived home all excited to start mulching my new beds and saw this giant pile of what looked to me like garden soil. Yeah, I said excited to mulch. I have actually been looking forward to it the whole week. Can't wait to see my new arrivals showcased in their freshly mulched beds. I'm sure normal people would think thats sad. Mulch and conifers arriving, I feel like a little kid on Christmas morning!

Oh yeah, back to the mulch. I ended up calling the garden supply people. They told me that it was not soil but fine textured mulch. I am a novice gardener and I am not familiar with all the different kinds of mulch but this clumpy stuff seems more like something that plants and weeds would love to grow in rather than be used to keep weeds out. It looks to me like decomposed mulch. Why would I want that? I'm a bit afraid that it will soak up too much water that should be going through to the roots below. Does anyone use fine textured mulch? Am I wrong for not wanting it. Maybe this is great stuff and I'm just uneducated. The manager is supposed to call me tomorrow morning and I wanted to get some advice before he calls. I was pretty mad especially since the guy that delivered it got his truck stuck and peeled out all over part of my yard. There was plenty of room for a big truck to turn around.

Here's a pic of the stuff. Thanks for the insight. =)

{{gwi:656821}}

Comments (18)

• gardener365
    12 years ago