Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clanross

China Fir (Cunninghamia) and water

clanross
10 years ago

Hello! This is my first time to post here, so I hope I am at the right place. I would like to grow China Firs on my property and wonder if, because they are in the cypress family, they like water. ??? We had some beautiful China Firs in South Mississippi that came down with Katrina, but they were not near water. I read that they are hardy to zone 6, so my zone is OK, but what about planting them in a moist or poorly drained area? If China fir is not a good option, what trees, other than cypress, should I try? Thanks.

Comments (13)

• pineresin
    10 years ago

They like moist, but not badly-drained boggy sites. If the site is really wet, try Baldcypress, or Atlantic White Cypress if you want something evergreen.

Resin

• mikebotann
    10 years ago

I agree with Resin. I have about 20 of them planted in different situations, none in a bog. Genetically, they are set up for summer monsoons. They like summer water with good drainage. They can handle a surprising amount of dryness, but basically they are heavy water users. When I cut the branches, they wilt very fast for an evergreen. My local florist won't use them because of that.
    Mike
    {{gwi:664885}}

• clanross
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the speedy replies. I have seen seeds for sale on Ebay, but the only place I know of for small trees is ForestFarm. Is that the best place to buy China Firs? How long does it take to get something big enough to set out if I start from seeds? My husband used the downed China Firs to build 2 arbors for my garden and they've lasted for nearly a decade in South Mississippi. I loved them. The cats would seek out their trunks as scratching posts too.Can't wait to have some again. Thanks again. :)

• mikebotann
    10 years ago

I've never grown them from seeds, just cuttings rooted in the Fall.