Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spartacus83

Coast Redwood seedling color

spartacus83
12 years ago

I planted this 10 inch Coast Redwood seedling outside in November. I checked on it today and it seems to be doing ok but Ive noticed that the tips have turned brown and some of the foliage has become very dark. This is my first time growing these trees, I'm just wondering if its what they normally do during winter.

{{gwi:669421}}

{{gwi:669423}}

{{gwi:669425}}

{{gwi:669426}}

Comments (12)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

could be some normal winter coloration ... complicated by transplant ... and some minor lack of water in winter ... due to the root interruption

life is all in those buds ... most likely.. you will just have to give it another few weeks or so .. to see if they start elongating ...

and no.. i would not feed them ...

ken

• spartacus83
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the info, I did move it once during the winter...not because I wanted to but because I had to. That could be it, I wouldn't say its due to lack of water because it has been especially wet in Western Washington this year. We actually had a little bit of snow last week as well!

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

I wouldn't say its due to lack of water because it has been especially wet in Western Washington this year.

==>>> if it was growing in the ground.. and you had to cut off some of its roots.. how can you affirmatively state .. that it processed enough water ... and say its not due to a lack of water ... water is only useful.. if you have an intact root system to use it ...

i dont see where you say its potted and moved it w/o digging ...

anyway.. report back in a few weeks and let us know ...

ken

• duque_in_va
    12 years ago

Spartacus, don't worry about the discoloration. It's common with Redwoods and Sequoias during winter. Some of my Redwoods look downright purple, with some brown buds.