Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lcgun4

White Pine

lcgun4
17 years ago

I am very new to planting anything and have some questions. I have 10 4ft white pines, my soil is clay... I was told to use gypsum(sp) in the whole to help break up the soil because white pines do not like clay. Has anyone heard of gypsum? Is this a good idea? Is there any other recommendations I should do for these trees? I planted 15 GG last spring they all seem to be doing well, but I was told they are more tolerant to different soil types. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Comments (21)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    17 years ago

white pine = pinus strobus ....

it is nearly a native to MI ... and covers a great percentage of the state .... ergo, i doubt it needs anything ... we tend to suggest that nothing but the tree be added to the planting hole ... except the return of the native soil ....

planting in clay is a different issue of which i am not able to tell you what to do .. since i do sand ...

i would not amend the soil unless a soil test indicates something is lacking...

a 'friend' told me to lime my soil ... because that's what they do where he lives ... i think i have had problems because of that ...

old wives and their tales need to be researched.. not followed blindly ...

these are not foo foo plants ... get them planted .... mulch the well ....and water them properly ... and dont drown them in the clay .. and they should be just fine ....

ken

• spruceman
    17 years ago

You say your soil is "clay." I have seen a number of posts in these forums from people who say their soil is clay. I am sorry, but I have no idea what that means. First, clay is not soil, and if all these soils I hear are clay, nothing should be growing in them.