Return to the Conifers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Junipers Turning Brown

Posted by Kris_K 6 (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 28, 14 at 11:06

Hi! First of all, I know nothing about gardening and hope that someone can help me save my junipers. We've had them (4 bushes) for over 5 years, never had a problem with them and as of last summer/early fall they looked fine. At some point over the winter they started to turn brown. I thought it was just the tips so I cut them back but they are brown throughout the inside of the bushes as well. All four bushes are equally affected.

I've done the white paper test and see no mites or webs. The branches do not appear to have cankers. I don't see any other evidence of fungi or pests but I'm no expert. Like much of the country we had a bad winter. Temperatures weren't too much colder than normal but we did not have the warm snaps that we're used to and we had a lot more snow on the ground. We're used to snow melting off quickly but not this winter. I'm wondering if it's some kind of rot? Our soil tends to be clay-like, rocky and these are in a bed with landscape fabric & garden rock. In the past, it has not been a problem but maybe not good for this winter? Any thoughts?

I'm trying to upload two pictures - fingers crossed that it works.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Junipers Turning Brown

Second picture...

o

severe winter... cold dry winds dedicated the tissue ... and if you had hot spells.. that triggered active spring growth..and then a FREEZE .. or deep frost.. that could do it ...

i am waiting to see how mine respond.. whether they green up ... or will need to be pruned ..

interior browning is normal ... not an issue ...

be nice to know where you are ...

interesting thought on the bug test ... i dont know if you would find them .. this early in the season ... i think of them as hot season problems.. when the population has spiked ... anyone else know the answer to that????

ken

o