Return to the Conifers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Conifers in the south - a few pics from around the yard

Posted by ritmatt GA 7b (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 1, 14 at 11:34

Somebody mentioned that it seemed like people used to post more photos on this forum. I'm still a newbie and therefore all my plants are still quite young, but I thought I'd post a few recent photos of conifers in my collection. Also, since I rarely see posts from people growing conifers in the deep South, I thought this post might be interesting to some.

Pinus koraiensis 'Dragon's Eye'
Pinus koraiensis 'Dragon's Eye'

Picea sitchensis 'Papoose'
Picea sitchensis 'Papoose'

Picea abies 'Perry's Gold'
Picea abies 'Perry's Gold'

Chamaecyparis pisifera 'Vintage Gold'
Chamaecyparis pisifera 'Vintage Gold'

All these images were taken within the past week or two. I'm looking forward to seeing some new springtime growth, soon.

If you're interested, I also have these and other images of plants on my blog.

Here is a link that might be useful: My personal blog

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Conifers in the south - a few pics from around the yard

Thank you for the photos. They all look so healthy and fresh in spite of the cold winter. Are any in any shade during the year?

o

Most of the trees here are planted in full sun. Except the P. koraiensis - it enjoys some afternoon shade, thanks to a stand of mature loblolly pines growing around it.

o

ritmatt, can I ask you exactly how you took your pictures (camera, objective, filters)? they are probably the best pics I have ever seen of small conifers.

o

Wow, lcadem, that's quite a compliment! Thank you.

The photos in this thread were all taken with a tripod-mounted Sony A7 with a Sony FE 55mm f/1.8 lens. Aperture set to around f/3.5, if I remember correctly. All shot with manual focus, which is easy on the A7. Many of the photos on my website were taken with other cameras and lenses, but the key is a sturdy tripod, a good lens, and tack-sharp focus.