Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
doke88

Can somebody identify this please?

doke88
12 years ago

I'm new to landscaping and my wife and I have four of these on the side of my house when we moved in. We like it and want in the front yard, too. The one pictured is about 3 feet and there are three others about 4-6 feet. Being a total novice I asked this in the shrub section and the guy there told me it was a conifer and should come here because somebody here would surely know. So I would appreciate any help. Thanks.

{{gwi:250906}}

{{gwi:250911}}

Comments (14)

• wisconsitom
    12 years ago

Great foliage, Y-Dog. It's either an arbor vitae-Thuja species -of some kind, or a Chamaecyparis of some other kind.

+oM

• doke88
    Original Author
    12 years ago

My first guess was a hinoki cypress of some kind.

• clement_2006
    12 years ago

Thuja occidentalis !,cultivar ?
    Clement

• brentm
    12 years ago

Thuja plicata 'Grune Kugel'

-Brent

• Sara Malone Zone 9b
    12 years ago

If Grune Kugel gets that big I'm in trouble...literature has it 12-24" in 10 years....that plant in the photo looks bigger! Mine are also wider than they are tall. But it does look like a Thuja...

• doke88
    Original Author
    12 years ago

The one in the photo is about 3 feet high and there are three others that are even bigger. One has to be 5 or 6 feet tall. I have no idea how long they've been like that, though, or if they'll get bigger because I've only lived here for a little while. They may get 20 feet for all I know!!

• monkeytreeboy15
    12 years ago

Looks like Thuja occidentalis rather than Thuja plicata to me--probably a dwarf cultivar.
    Edwin might know the cultivar.. :0)

-Sam

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

in the original post in the shrub forum.. wherein i referred them to you gurus .. i said:

it reminds me more of an arb.. that i have as Thuja occidentalis 'Golden Globe' aka 'Globosa Aurea'