Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dse1_gw

Need advice on Cupressina Spruce

dse1
16 years ago

I am a novice with conifers and need some advice. We planted a Cupressina spruce 8 foot B&B about 1 year ago. This spring, it has had lots of new growth particularly at the top. The problem is that the lower third of the tree has been losing needles. What I can't tell is if this is "normal" or if there is actually a problem. I water it about once a week, so I don't think I am over/under watering. My question is, should there be any needle loss this time of year, or does that indicate there is some problem? Any advice is appreciated. It is a gorgeous tree, so I would love to make sure I am caring for it appropriately before it is too late!!

Comments (15)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    16 years ago

interior needles .. or the tips/ends of the branches.. a picture would sure help ...

all conifers shed interior needles sooner or later .. complicated by the stresses of transplant .. they don't hang on forever ...

extremely stressed or dying plants lose whole branches ... perhaps sacrificed for the upper portion of the tree ...

watering is sufficient.. when your finger inserted to at least three inches.. or a small hole to the known root ball .. indicates the soil is cool and damp .... allowing to nearly dry before watering again ... with rain and drought.. etc.. its impossible to do it by the calender ... or the time of watering.. only you can tell what the water you supply is doing in your soil ...

a picture would further my thoughts... ken

PS: smaller trees transplant easier.. recover faster and will outgrow larger trees in the long run .. next time.. go smaller and save some money ...

• Embothrium
    16 years ago