Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
megonics

Conifers that can withstand wind and high water tables

megera
10 years ago

I am very new to gardening and have a couple of simple questions regarding conifers.

We live in a neighborhood with a wind tunnel that blows 60-120 mph winds once every couple of years. In the last wind storm our area had many of its Blue Spruces blown down. I am wondering if this is due to the variety of tree or deep watering in the first few years of the trees establishment? Would any conifer be able to withstand these winds, or are there certain varieties that are better than others. Also, our water table is quite high, so I'm hoping for a tall, evergreen, windbreak/privacy screen that can tolerate fairly moist soils. Any ideas? Thank you for your help!

Comments (9)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

hey!!! .. welcome to GW .. especially the conifer forum ...

i will leave the science of such to those so trained...

but lets start with 2 things that come to mind ...

first.. very generally speaking.. trees can be twice as big underground as above.. BUT IN A DIFFERENT SHAPE ... the roots are more of a pancake.. relatively speaking.. see pix below of a maple as an example ... you probably saw such when the local trees blew over ...;. it is genetic ...

and your suggestion.. that deep watering will change that genetics.. is.. well.. wishful thinking ....

secondly... i would simply ask.. what is standing.. in your greater area ... perhaps we can start, by defining.. what is not affected.. in your area .... these guys are pretty sharp in ID'ing such... with a halfway decent picture ...

all that said... mini's and dwarf's ought to be better able to cope with wind ... especially if you have a prevailing wind.. and can landscape for such ...

lets see what the others have to say

ken

ps: which is a very long way of suggesting.. there is no magical tap root ....

{{gwi:234645}}

{{gwi:208954}}

• gardener365
    10 years ago