Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rhonda_k

weeping white spruce

rhonda.k
9 years ago

Is there something wrong with my weeping white spruce, or is something eating on it? I'm new to conifers, so any information on this tree would be extremely helpful. Thanks, Rhonda

Comments (29)

• gardener365
    9 years ago

I've been systematically (for 3-4 years) blasting mine off with water and occasionally spraying it with an insecticide for mites.

That's what you have going on there I think...

This was a brutal winter and if that's all you're seeing is those couple little branches w/o needles, then forget about it, literally.

My specimen has branches throughout it that I keep clipping off... it is getting much better.

Mites show up after the weather warms up. (spider mites)

Dax

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

is that the sum total of the damage??

if so.. ignore it ... as the new growth looks rather fat and happy ...

whats the history???? if rather new.. i would suggest damage from shipping and handling ...

i really dont understand the pic... did that part bud out.. and then the needles disappeared.. or not???

if it did bud out .... look for a worm in the general area.. basically the color of what it eats ... if you find it.. kill it ... and unless the damage is all over the plant.. that would be the whole process ...

you dont really want to have to spray a blue plant.. as you will stain the waxy coating that makes it blue...

if you take one of the older needles.. and rub off the wax.. you will find the green needle under the wax .. and that is why.. as the needles age.. they get greener.. and greener .. in the interior.. and eventually fall off ...

more info please...

ken

• gardener365
    9 years ago

You don't want to spray oils on blue-colored spruces. (dormant oil, horticultural oil, neem...)

When I spray insecticides, it's usually SEVIN or Malathion. Read any label before you ever use pesticides.

Dax

• Mark Wasserman
    9 years ago