Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nnmjdklil

favorite conifer mail order providers?

nnmjdklil
9 years ago

Newbie here, starting beds all around a rancher we bought last year, basically from scratch. Love small and interesting conifers, JM's and fall-color shrubs. Anyone have a link to already-discussed favorite mail order places for conifers? (Thanks, Ken!)

Comments (5)

• Windhaven
    9 years ago

I've ordered from Conifer Kingdom several times and highly recommend them.

• gardener365
    9 years ago

Coenosium Gardens
    Broken Arrow has a wonderful selection of hardwoods and beautiful plants.

Dax

Here is a link that might be useful: Link to Thread

• ricksample
    9 years ago

From the ones I've used Westernevergreen.com is by far the best. You'll NEVER get a conifer that is root bound because of the type of soil they use. The roots are big & healthy, no root separation required. You can take the tree from the pot to the ground. Plus they are the cheapest... being the best and the cheapest usually doesn't go hand in hand. The only downside is their website isn't user friendly. I enjoy seeing multiple large pictures of trees before I buy. So you almost have to look on WesternEvergreens site to get the names they have available and plug each name into google to see what it looks like.

The second best would be ConiferKingdom.com. There plants are very large and healthy. They also have great sales... I've bought 3' tall conifers for just $15 before. They do offer great sale items throughout the year plus usually always offer a free plant with purchases over $100. Plus there website is great... each conifer has multiple pictures + the size information. Some of the root systems are more tangled and aren't as free as Westernevergreens. So you will need to spend a good 10+ minutes to untangle some of the roots, but I haven't received anything from them that were root bound.

Those are the only two companies I now use... I don't even look elsewhere.

• whaas_5a