Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thuja1766

Emerald Green Arborvitae

Thuja1766
9 years ago

Hi all, I'm a total newbie to the green thumb experience.

I transplanted 34 Emerald Green Arborvitae last fall and everything has been going great up until the last 3 weeks or so. Originally the trees were growing in clay soil and I transplanted them into dirt with more rocks than I would care for.
Some of the trees are doing great and a few not so great.

I have spread fertilizer around the base and I water them with two soaker hoses (1 on each side) and a sprinkler.

The problem as you can see in the picture is that they are browning from the top down. I have looked on line and can't seem to find any info for browning from the top down. In the first picture the two trees on the left were a bright green and the tree on the far right had a brown top. Now it's starting to swing the other way. The far right is coming back and the two on the left are starting to brown.

Could it be the fertilizer is burning it or are they still not getting enough water?

Comments (6)

• outback63 Dennison
    9 years ago

When you do mass trans plantings always figure you will loose some.

Never add amendments/fertilizer to new transplants

It screws their thinking process up.

A good rule of thumb on how to not over water.

Insert index finger down to second knuckle. If dry trickle water until planting hole is wet clear through Let soil dry out again using the index finger to test for dryness then repeat watering process if dry. Do this for a year on new transplants.

Dave

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

dig a small hole with a hand trowel.. and FIND OUT soil moisture ... we can not really tell you if your soil is moist ...

tis transplant shock .. and improper watering. ..

its is not surprising it 'showed' .. when the heat of summer is building ... of course.. i dont know where you are ???