Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ademink_gw

Cedrus deodora 'Aurea' question

ademink
10 years ago

Wandering through Lowe's (yeah, I'll admit it) and saw a random loner in the midst of the yews and arborvitae that was gold and pretty. I recognized it as Cedrus deodora 'Aurea'.

It had a "non Lowe's" tag - 8 feet tall, $75.

Snag.

So....the zones for this thing are all over the place. I'm reading everything from living happily in 5 to 6b to 7a ...?????

I think they actually have changed Indy to 6 now or something...but whatever. I've been growing 2 (now huge) WBACs in my yard for about 8 years now w/ no issues.

Any chance this will make it or did it just get stuck on the wrong truck and should've ended up down south?

Comments (24)

• gardener365
    10 years ago

Good luck! I say that with sarcasm......

Deodara is zone 7b/8a in my opinion. Resin always talks about the deodara's in Denmark, zone 7 that were killed by a severe winter.

Dax

• ademink
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well....that sucks. Always google before you throw it in the truck. LOL

It does have a 1 yr guarantee.....I could roll the dice for a year. WHEEEEEEEEE Sure is purty...

• ademink
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Ken...I'm disappointed that you haven't berated me yet...

• Embothrium
    10 years ago

There's more than one upright yellow cultivar. These may vary in hardiness, although where you are it may not make much difference. Are you seeing any larger specimens around there? Here in Zone 8 this species is very common. If it can persist there you can be sure there will be some around.

• ademink
    Original Author
    10 years ago

bboy - never received notification that you replied. My apologies. Nope, haven't seen one around here but this is the land of VW sized yews and boxwoods.

If there were ever a test..this winter is it! Bottom half looks fairly normal...top half looks burned. lol May be a disaster.

• mrgpag SW OH Z5/6
    10 years ago