Return to the Conifers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Canadian Hemlock root system

Posted by naal 7 NoVA (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 11, 09 at 11:10

Hi all -

My elderly father has two beautiful Canadian hemlocks on both ends of his house, within 5 feet of the exterior. They are approximately 12 years old.

He's thinking of removing them because of concerns that the root systems are invading the water/sewer lines. He has no proof that this is happening, but it's more for preventative measures.

Is this conifer known to cause problems? My knowledge is that they are rather shallow rooted, but hey, I'm no expert!

Thanks in advance to your help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Canadian Hemlock root system

• Posted by beng z6b western MD (My Page) on
    Tue, Aug 11, 09 at 17:20

They are typically shallow rooted. IMO, hemlock would be less likely to affect deep water lines than most other species.

The location & depth of any piping in relation to the trees would be of interest of course.

o

• Posted by bboy USDA 8 Sunset 5 WA (My Page) on
    Tue, Aug 11, 09 at 17:23

If roots are getting into pipes the problem is the condition of the pipes.

o

Hemlocks I've seen in the forest that have been tipped over by the wind have had root systems flat as a pancake.

I suppose someone will now point out that the deep-rooted ones don't windthrow! But, I'm in agreement with the above comments........not likely to cause a problem.

Bboy alludes to old pipes. While not an inexpensive proposition, new water and sewer laterals are wonderful things.

+oM

o

Like many trees, it depends on how well they are watered or how ample the rainfall. Ample water results in shallower roots. How deep are these waterlines in your area?

tj

o

• Posted by naal 7 NoVA (My Page) on
    Wed, Aug 12, 09 at 7:46