Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marsui

Are these Aroborvitaes ?

marsui
10 years ago

I bought a house 2 years ago that has a string of evergreens near a fence. I want to plant Arborvitaes for more privacy as the ones I have are very short.

I'm a newbie when it comes to evergreens and I was wondering if anyone could identify what these particular evergreens were. Some of them are a little taller than 6 feet, but after 2 years, i feel if they were Arborvitaes already, they would be taller. I'm just worried maybe they were not planted correctly and something stunted their growth, or they are just something else completely. If they are arborvitaes, it wouldn't seem to make much sense to replace them.

(I attached an image, and I have others. Ignore the bush with flowers!

Comments (9)

• marsui
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is an image of the inside of one of them.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

all plants... oh.. hi.. welcome ...

all plants are naked inside... no sunlight for green tissue ...

there are about 100 named arbs.. thuja ...

yes yours are arbs ... and they are.. what they are ... if you want taller ones.. you will have to find a named variety that does what you want ...

see link for a rather thin but tall one.. grows about a foot per year.. insure single leaders ....

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: mine is the 6th pic

• coniferjoy
    10 years ago

Thuja ocidentalis 'Smaragd' is the right name...oh...hi Ken, no 'Smargard', remember ;0)

• Embothrium
    10 years ago

There is a lot of dead bits on the live part of the foliage shown in your close-up, indicating something is going on. Otherwise, this cultivar can be quite slow if site conditions do not encourage faster growth.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

joy!!!!

how in the heck. do you remember my mis-spellings... crikey man ... lol