Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marilyninconnecticut

Help !!! -Japanese Umbrella Pine(Sciadopitys verticillata

Help!! My husband pruned the tip of my Japanese Umbrella Pine as he claims he didn't realize it was a tree! It was about 6 ft. tall with a beautiful shape - perfectly conical. Now, it's a little over 5 ft. tall and missing it's tip - it's a little rounded at the top. What will become of it - will it eventually regain it's pretty shape? I was so depressed over this as I love this tree!

Thanks, Marilyn

Comments (8)

• eukaryote
    15 years ago

Sorry to hear about your Sciadopitys, that would really bite, especially on a nice six foot specimen. My partner got careless with the weed-whacker this summer around mine, and I wasn't too pleased, but that was just minor damage. I'm not an expert, but I would imagine that it will grow another leader eventually. It will probably take a while before it has a nice pyramidal shape again though.

• User
    15 years ago

Marilyninconn,
    I'm sorry to hear about your unbrella pine.
    It will take years and years for the tree to correct itself.
    THat is exactly why my hubby isn't allowed to touch anything in my garden.
    He isn't allowed to touch the weed whacker either.
    I always wanted an unbrella pine, but couldn't afford a tree of any height at all, so I give up on the idea.
    The next time you buy an expensive plant or shrub or tree, tell him the price right before you plant it.
    Tell him, so don't touch it.
    Hope it grows back for you!

• pineresin
    15 years ago

It will produce one or more new leaders. The important thing is to select a single leader in a couple of years, and prune the others out, so you don't get a forked tree. I've seen this happen over here with one that lost its top in a storm several years ago, it produced several leaders which then started breaking off in subsequent storms.

Resin

• amccour
    15 years ago