Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greygal_gw

Weeping or unique conifer

GreyGal
10 years ago

I'm new to conifers and would like to pick the brains of the experts/experienced here.
I have a space in a small front garden where I've had some too tall arborvitae removed. It's a townhouse and arborvitae are the rule for privacy here but poor pruning caused them to grow too large/wide and any prune back exposed only wood. Personally I'm glad as I'm looking for something different. But my problem. The spot in question isn't that large. It's a corner area about 4' square. Height of the conifer would have to max out around 6/7'. I would love to find something perhaps weeping or colorful that would work. The area is in a south/east exposure and gets full sun. The spot is between the house and a small stone wall. It gets some shade later in the day. I'm in upstate NY and our zone is 6a Any suggestions would really be appreciated. I've been searching here and under Google, but would really like feedback. Thank you.

Comments (21)

• gardener365
    10 years ago

I have a few suggestions:

Pinus parviflora 'Tone' or 'Al Fordham' or 'Pygmy Yatsubusa'.

Dax

• nearpass
    10 years ago

Double post, sorry.

This post was edited by nearpass on Wed, Aug 21, 13 at 21:43

• nearpass
    10 years ago

Any chance you could post a picture of the spot. That would probably solicit a bunch of suggestions. I'm in upstate NY myself, zone 6a, and might be able to help you find some sources.

• sc77 (6b MA)
    10 years ago

Trees never stop growing, but I will spare you the lecture and assume your 6-7ft limit is based on a 10yr period. My vote would be Picea pungens 'The Blues' or Picea abies 'Gold Drift'. Both would require staking to grow narrow and upright.

• GreyGal
    Original Author
    10 years ago