Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
broconne_gw

Dwarf Alburta Spruce Prices

broconne
16 years ago

I am looking to plant 2 Dwarf Alberta Spruce trees on my property. I am new to landscaping and trying to understand why the prices vary so widely based on location.

Lowes has 5 gal Alberta Spruce for $45

My local run garden store has 5 gal for $140

Should I expect a variation in quality between the two or does the local garden store just make an additional $100 per tree?

As I said I am new to the landscaping world, so I am unsure of the differences in buying plantings from various types of stores.

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• tcharles26
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If the plants were the same size, I'd go with the cheaper ones at lowes unless it was evident that they had been sitting there forever and were pot bound or otherwise looked like crap. And keep in mind plants at 'local run garden store' could be pot bound as well. It's a common problem with container plants. Actually, may have come from same grower at the same time.

Plus lowes will probably guarantee for one year so keep receipt.

Also, some people will tell you picea glauca var. albertiana 'conica' (probably the 'dwarf alberta spruce' you're referring too - they're are many) is not a dwarf in the strictest sense of the word. But obviously is dwarf in the sense that is not as large or fast growing as the generic species tree.

• greenlarry
    16 years ago

I find it amazing that Lowes offers a year guarantee on plants,that is such a weird concept to me, a plant with a guarantee!

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    16 years ago

does the local garden store just make an additional $100 per tree?