Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ferna_o

Need Help for a Diseased Cypress

Ferna_O
9 years ago

Hello.
I planted this little one from seed, 3 to 4 years ago.
Its a Chilean mountain range Cypress, Pilgerodendron Uviferum, Also known as Cipr�s de las Guaitecas.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pilgerodendron)

It was growing healthy and beautifull until a few months back, when it started looking depressed. Now its main growing tip looks yellowish and burnt.

I uploaded 3 pictures.
1. Shows the whole little tree.
2. Shows a branch that looks healthy.
3. Shows the main tip. which looks diseased.

I'm no expert, could someone tellme what could be happening, and how could I help this little one?

Comments (7)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

can we see a pic of the potting media ... or a description????

when is the last time it was repotted.. how old is the media???

seems awful tall and spindly .... have you been fertilizing it??? .. if so.. how, when and what ...

is there any chance it can be put in the ground???

it appears to be a watering issue.... either too much.. and you have some root rot ...

or not enough during a heat wave ....

chile ... ??? ... you are just coming out of winter??? ... and into spring????

or too much water during winter dormancy.. if any in your area???

ken

• Ferna_O
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Potting media is regular leaf soil mixed with house made compost, though mostly its been developing its root system through the leaf soil.
    The medium has been renewed 2 times since it sprouted, as i said, 3 to 4 years ago.
    I haven't fertilized it, just watered with tap watter when the soil looked dry, as one would do with any plant. It was doing quite well untill a few months when the top started to bend over and lose sustent.
    I can't put it in the ground yet, because i need to find a definitive spot. and by the way, taking it outside seemed to be harmfull/ speed up the rot.