Return to the Conifers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How big diameter Arb cutting will still root?

Posted by SidewaysLS4 5 (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 5, 12 at 13:04

I picked up 2 Degroot's Spire Arbs, about 24" high recently. They are single leader coming out of the ground, but there is a secondary leader, about 10-12" high coming out the side of the main trunk of both. I am planning on lopping those off once they get established some more.

I got to thinking of trying my hand at rooting these cuttings this winter...so what is the maximum diameter of an Arb cutting that will still root? The proposed cuttings are definately 'old wood'. Is this best done on something smaller and new growth? Any other tips?

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How big diameter Arb cutting will still root?

cuttings root rather freely ...

i did it once.. total novice.. and got about 50% take ...

BUT!!!! ... i used about 4 to 6 inch cutting ... has to be wood with bark lets say.. not green tips ...

i used to grow hosta seeds in the house in winter.. under lights ... so i tried some DS ... in a set up like the pic below.. on a heat mat ... sterilized everything.. and used a rooting hormone ...

but if your question is.. can you root your 12 inch piece .. i say NOPE ...

i would time it all for when the plant is in dormancy ... early december or january in my z5 ... but some peeps actually 'stick' them in nearing frames in earlier fall ... outdoors ...

also.. there will be hole in the plant when you cut the piece out .. plant it so that part is out of sight.. it will fill back in.. next summer ... been there.. done that ... i worried.. you shouldnt ...

ken

i had two others with DS in them..
Photobucket

o

There shouldnt be a hole in these...they are real young (and the cultivar is rather not like say, an emerald green mess, lol). Your cuttings look to be definately less developed than what I'm thinking of using, thanks for the insight!

o

i kinda skirted the title ...