Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shkolz_gw

Arborvitae turning brown

shkolz
9 years ago

Hello -

First time on this forum (and I have no experience with plants, so be gentle! :-)

I have a row of about 50 arborvitae planted as a privacy screen. These were 5'-6' trees, delivered ball in burlap. The guys that delivered them also planted them. The main guy owns a farm up in NY, but lives in FL. He comes up north once a year and delivers and plants these trees by the truck load. They made fairly wide holes, dropped the tree in, then filled in the hole with whatever soil they displaced. The trees were planted fairly shallow. The guy insisted that most people plant em too deep, and the "trick" is to keep em shallow, and give them lots of water and nothing else. So thats what I did.

A few weeks later we had a rough storm and half of them fell over, so I righted them, added some extra top soil and packed em in a bit. The trees looked pretty good at that point.

These trees were planted in April. I watered the trees almost daily with a drip hose for about 5 months. A month or two ago, 2-3 trees started to turn yellow from the inside out. I searched around and it seemed pretty normal to lose a few trees out of so many planted. However, reading on these forums, I got the impression that I was over-watering, as most folks talk about watering once or twice a week or so. We also had problems with our drip hose exploding, so we got those replaced and put pressure regulators on em. Much slower but more steady water now. I now water for 90 minutes every 3 days (made that switch about 3 weeks ago).

In the last 2 weeks, and especially in the last week, many of the trees have gone brown and/or yellow (first yellow then brown). This seems to happen from the inside out. If I run my hands along the branch, all the needs fall out until I reach some green ones.