Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
monkeytreeboy15

What kind of Abies?

monkeytreeboy15
11 years ago

I purchased this plant as Abies numidica 'Anthoine'. However, the foliage looks nothing like that of Abies numidica..

Any suggestions or help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

-Sam

Comments (6)

• fotisr
    11 years ago

Sam, it looks like Abies cephalonica to me, with a hint of hybridization with Abies alba, but not enough to call it Abies borisii-regis. All the forests I've hiked in the continental Greece have Abies cephalonica with some degree of hybridazation with Abies alba. Many of the trees look like this one (within natural diversity). Unfortunately I haven't yet been to Cephalonia island's forest were there is supposed to be the habitat of pure Abies cephalonica stands and check the true form.

But since I'm no expert I might be 100% mistaken... :)

Best regards,
    Fotis

• monkeytreeboy15
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I thought it looked like Abies cephalonica also with the exception that the needles are longer, more pointed and are not arranged in quite the same pattern. (The needles don't point upward like that of Abies cephalonica.)
    This would allude to a probable hybridization with Abies alba..
    Thank you, Fotis.
    Any other ideas?

-Sam

• clement_2006
    11 years ago

Yes, it's Abies cephalonica.
    I selected this plant many, many years ago from 1 Abies cephalonica seedling, with a strange dwarf , congested growth.I grafted less than 10 plants in 2 or 3 years,
    because he look to similar (in a first time) to Abies cephalonica 'Meyer's Dwarf'.
    4 or 5 plants are buyed by collector, and it's strange you have this cultivar in USA.
    According to Edwin, It's a pitty, the name change to numidica ! I don't know why ??
    Clement ANTHOINE

• monkeytreeboy15
    Original Author
    11 years ago