Return to the Conifers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bent 'Ogon' Gold Rush Redwoods

Posted by visionsofpaint NC (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 28, 12 at 21:20

I purchased a couple of Ogon redwoods from the Habitat for Humanity Reuse store, they are both really healthy looking and have long leaders. The problem is one of my leaders is bent almost to the ground. It has only been in the ground for three days, but it looks kind of sad. It is already showing healthy buds of new growth. Will it lift it's leader on its own or do I need to stake it? If so, how do I do that without harming the tree? I can post a picture tomorrow if I need to. (too dark tonight!)

I've never had a redwood. I'm a gardening novice, really, but at $8 for a seven foot leader, I couldn't resist the beautiful foliage.

Thanks!
Ashley

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bent 'Ogon' Gold Rush Redwoods

Hi Ashley. If by that ^ you mean you got a 7 ft. dawn redwood, "Ogon" cultivar for 8 bucks, indeed a good buy. We'll have to see a pic to figure out what to tell you next!

+oM

o

• Posted by dcsteg 5b Shawnee, KS. (My Page) on
    Sat, Sep 29, 12 at 4:56

Ashley,

Did you purchase the one with the leader already bent to the ground growing that way? Or is the leader disproportionately to tall and thin to support itself. In any case you need to stake to get it vertical. If growing that way it could be a challenge to get it vertical. We will need to see a photo. If to week to stand on its own drive a narrow stake next to the trunk and secure the leader to it. Buy the stretch tape and narrow aluminum stake at your local nursery. The stakes come in different lengths.

Something seems amiss. I have never observed this tree with a leader to weak to stand on its own. Possibly grown in crowded conditions with not enough sun light along with nutrient deficient soil as contributing factors.

Dave

o

Dave,