Return to the Conifers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Arrowhead Alpines

Posted by fairfield8619 Zone 8 N LA (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 2, 12 at 16:07

How are the conifers from them? They have a lot of different and interesting things. Wondering about the sizes, can't seem to find anything on the website. Frank

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Arrowhead Alpines

I've only ordered from them once and got exactly what I was hoping for. I didn't purchase grafted conifers, just some junipers. I think they were around $20 each and in quart containers.

o

Check their feedback on [the competing site that rates resellers]. I've had enough problems with order for herbaceous items that I gave up ordering from the many years ago. Two years ago I placed an order thinking I'd give them a second chance: again, a plant was grossly mislabeled as another geophyte that was not even in the same family as what it was supposed to be. Order an Irid, get an Amaryllid! I have no experience buying conifers from them.

NB Since then the founder has died and they have a new nursery manager, so maybe that will help.

o

• Posted by whaas 5a SE WI (My Page) on
    Tue, Oct 2, 12 at 20:06

They appear to have a great selection of conifers. Most of which is supplied by Gee.

It was like pulling teeth to get questions answered from them. I never understood why you'd need to beg to give them your business. I'll never order from them for that reason. For all I know they might have awesome product, which for the most part should be true if its from Gee. Just expect some plants to be overpriced. For example a 2 year Picea abies 'Cupressina' for $45...don't think so.

o

Well Maybe I will try a small order and see how it goes. Actually there is a non conifer I'm interested in too and may order that and see what happens. There are significantly more positives than negatives.

o