Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cal_00

Norway Spruce question about planting inground or pot.

Cal_00
10 years ago

Hi, I bought 5 Norway Spruces online about a month ago. I was under the impression at the time they would be full and filled in but they weren't. I decided to pot them in the meanwhile to see if I should place them inground or keep them in pots for a few years to allow them to fill in. I have zero experience with conifers and I'm seeking advice with those who do.Here is some info and stats on my Norway Spruces and location I plan on planting them.

- They are 4 years old grown from seed (2+2) according to seller
- They are 24"-30"
- I plan on putting them in full sun in Zone 5B
- They will be planted in a open area (no wild life)

Will the grow quicker inground then potted? The location they are going to be planted will be their permanent home.

Here are some picture.

Comments (13)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

plant them according to the info at the link ...

anything else.. is trying to out do mother nature.. and you dont have any experience to do such.. besides that it wont work ...

those look like some fine plants.. for what you paid ...

ken

ps: plant them today ...

Here is a link that might be useful: link

• jarpe
    10 years ago

I would put it in ground at once. Good thing about norway spruce is that unlike many other species you can plant it as deep as you want in well drained soil. That way you can minimize branchless part and get more full appearance later.

It seems to me that roots are at this point undersized maby becauce of too much watering and poor drainage earlier or too small pot. More sun is allso now required. They have been growing too close to one another. Otherwise it seems like a fine young plant.

Little over 200 000 norway spruces were planted into clearcut-areas last summer under my supervision here at Oulainen, Finland.

• Cal_00
    Original Author
    10 years ago