Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurac_gw

Serbian Spruce recovery from salt spray

Laurac
9 years ago

Hi,
I have several Serbian Spruce trees that were planted December 2013 about 30' from a road. Over half of the trees have issues like in the picture and I was told this was the result of the excessive salt that was used during last winter (pretty extreme snowfall). Is there a chance that the lower branches will fill in again or are they dead? I have close up pictures of the lower branches if that will help.

This is my first time posting here, so I appreciate any help!!
Laura

Comments (16)

• outback63 Dennison
    9 years ago

They never regenerate.

Cut out all dead branches.

As the tree ages the lower branches may drop down several feet to cover some of the loss.

Otherwise they look healthy.

Dave

• Laurac
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks Dave! I was afraid of that.

I appreciate the quick reply!

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

large transplant.. large transplant shock ...

MOST LIKELY ... imho ... injury at digging from the field ...

perhaps some better watering might have helped .... but!!!!

extremely healthy growth above ...

did the guy who said salt.. offer to sell you replacements????

they were sheared for nice xmas tree shape at point of sale.. unfortunately ... that isnt their normal growth pattern ... they will outgrow it over the years .. note how the top growth is more natural ...

where in MI ... i am down in adrian

ken

• FrozeBudd_z3/4
    9 years ago

Remove the dead stuff, though don't cut off the branches that still have some green remaining on them, as in three or four years time, you might be surprised by how much they've again filled back in ... your patience will be rewarded I'm sure.

• Laurac
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks all!