Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whaas_5a

A Mail Order Story

whaas_5a
12 years ago

The story goes a little like this ...

I've been gardening with deciduous plants for about 6 years now and never considered mail order up until this past spring. Basically a leap of faith based on the desire to acquire various conifers and the fact that many of you have acquired tremendous specimens from mail order from such outlets like Coenosium and Song Sparrow.

My first order arrives and I was a bit disappointed. I thought to myself I'd never mail order again. Stock was poorly trained, barely uniform; girdling roots that where almost impossible to unravel and damaged plants to cap it off. The company was quick to replace the damaged plants so I figured what the heck I'll give them another chance. So a month later I placed another sizable order.

No damaged plants this time around but still issues with poorly trained, barely uniform plants with girdling roots. But I was still getting some nice specimens at a great price.

At this point I decided to call them up and get to know the owners a bit. They were quite nice and said to write in the comments section to have the owner select my specimens on my next order. I'm thinking wow, now we're talking!

So here goes my next order with the comments entered in the order. Again I'm a bit disappointed as the same issues are present. But again there were still several nice plants to compensate for the poor plants.

As I started to acquire these plants I began to find out through the experts here on GW that I had received four plants that were actually something else. A bit of an issue for the company that sold them but they were nice cultivars that I'd like to have anyhow.

As spring and summer progresses I see a few bad reviews from this company but I end up sticking up for them just because you can actually get some nice plants for a good price basically hit and miss.