Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenguy111

RE: Pruning Green Giant Arborvitae

greenguy111
10 years ago

Hello... This is my first time on here so hopefully I am in the right pace... Question on pruning green giants... I just planted a row of 40 gg's. they are 8-10ft tall. Almost half of them have double leaders from which I've gathered is because they weren't pruned when they were smaller. Some don't start til further up but some start at the bottom and so it is almost like two trees growing out of the root ball. I believe I need to determine the dominant leader and trim the other back...? I saw somewhere to not trim more than one third.. If I cut one third on these trees I would be cutting off a 1 inch thick branch. Is this ok or should I do less than that. Or should I just let them go.. I planted them 5 ft apart for a privacy screen.. Or can I cut it down low and put pruning sealer on it? Also it is the middle of December so should I wait till spring to prune? Any thoughts anybody? Please help...

Comments (29)

• greenguy111
    Original Author
    10 years ago

more pics

• greenguy111
    Original Author
    10 years ago

and another

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

where are you ...???

is snow load an issue???

quick answer.. relax.. no severe pruning until established in a year or two ... so plenty of time to talk about it ...

ball and burlap..or potted... any intense root surgery ... native soil.. hole amended?? ... no fert ... how do you water... does your soil drain ... did you mulch ... etc ...

you dont really give us much to go on.. besides the inclination.. to cut off half their heads.. speaking of which.. do let them eat cake.. lol ...

think of leaves/needles as food making machines... just after transplant.. we dont want to be removing half of them .. until we are sure the roots are all set ... THEN ... we think about such ..

ken

ps: thats big stock.. did you do it yourself????

• greenguy111
    Original Author