Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
midnightsmum

Weekend Trivia -- Sunday

Happy Sunday Morning, Cottagers!! I am up early for me, off to see another house - let's hope this one suits!!

I love to play Scrabble, but don't often get a chance anymore. I'm not very good at it now, as it is a muscle that must be exercised!! According to the Scrabble Dictionary, there are 42 words in the English language that start with a 'q', but do not have a 'u' next. Hmmm...I didn't know that. I asked last week if anyone knew where the airline QANTAS got its name - it is actually an acronym, like SCUBA. It stands for Queensland and Northern Territories Air Service, quite a mouthful. So, where did the 'qu' start in our language? And what does the most recent 'q' word to enter our lexicon, qwerty, come from?? Hmmmm...this sounded like a really good idea earlier in the week, now I'm not sure it is a question worthy of our Cottagers.

I'll be back with clues, if you need them.

Nancy.

Comments (20)

• thinman
    11 years ago

Hmmmm. Qwerty. I feel like the answer is right in front of me...

Don't know about the qu question. When you say where, are you looking for a place, like another country, or ...?

TM

• midnightsmum (Z4, ON)
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hey Tm - why it is in front of you!! I knew that would be too easy!! I am looking for a place/s or language/s.

Nancy.

• aftermidnight Zone7b B.C. Canada
    11 years ago

Qwerty, what the heck is qwerty... then I looked down LOL.

Annette

• cyn427 (z. 7, N. VA)
    11 years ago

Well, I think I know this. Husband, son, and I all studied a certain language. Did you know Gaul is divided into three parts? :)

Cynthia

• midnightsmum (Z4, ON)
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Go east, Cyn!!

Nancy.

• cyn427 (z. 7, N. VA)
    11 years ago

Not saying that is the place! The phrase is the important clue. Is that right? I will say it in its original language if you want (not French).

Cynthia

• midnightsmum (Z4, ON)