Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crazydogs

Weekend Trivia: Sunday

Good morning cottagers!

What a wonderful weekend so far. Perfect weather, quiet neighborhood. Love it. Planning to plant stuff today. :)

I am just beginning to teach my kiddoes about the civil rights era. So, today's question has to do with that.

You are looking for a name, but if you can't come up with more than, "that guy who..." You will get credit. This man is the only surviving member of the US Civil Rights Commission. He was asked to serve by President Eisenhower in 1957. He has received more than 150 honorary degrees which is a world record. Ideas?

Back in a bit with clues.

Cynthia

Comments (19)

• thinman
    9 years ago

Oh boy, that's a toughie.

Beautiful weekend here too. Sun and 70ðF - can't beat that in my book. Still too early to put in frost sensitive plants, but it's getting really close.

TM

• midnightsmum (Z4, ON)
    9 years ago

Wow, TM, I have everything out but my orchid and my big Christmas cactus - still haven't found the proper shady spot.
    It was so humid and hot yesterday, till the storm blew through, then it cooled down and got comfortable yesterday evening.

Wow, and is still alive...I am going to help big time with this!!

Nancy.

• cyn427 (z. 7, N. VA)
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The gentleman in question attended, but did not graduate from the university he would later lead as president. Andrew Young said of him, "If ------ was for you, you didn't care who was against you."

On another note, I decided that I should put in the screens today before I get all dirty in the garden. Naturally, that requires cleaning them (the windows) first. That requires tilting them in which is supposed to make cleaning oh so easy. Of course, one came out of the sash and I can't get it back in-it is slightly a-kilter. Sigh. I am just not meant for menial work! ;) Maybe a prayer would help.

Cynthia

• aftermidnight Zone7b B.C. Canada
    9 years ago