Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
midnightsmum

Weekend Trivia -- Sunday

Happy Sunday morning, All!! At the temps have dropped for sleeping, but not so much during the day. You know, some hot weather countries were laughing at us this week, with our humidex warnings. That's OK, they don't live in a country that goes from -0 to 2 x 60 in a heartbeat, some months!! OK, on the the question:

{{gwi:605624}}

Well, here's a handsome fellow!! He was born in what is now Croatia, in 1856, in what was then the Austrian Empire. While he attended universities in Graz and Prague, he was largely self-taught. He worked for the Continental Edison Company in France designing improvements to electric equipment brought overseas from Edison's ideas, before moving to the US in 1884. Edison hired him to work for his Edison Machine Works.

In 1885 he claimed he could redesign Edison's inefficient motor and generators, making an improvement in both service and economy. According to this fellow, Edison remarked "There's fifty thousand dollars in it for you - if you can do it". This has been noted as an odd statement from an Edison whose company was stingy with pay and did not have that sort of cash on hand. After months of work when he finished the task and inquired about payment Edison claimed he was only joking replying, "Sir, you don't understand our American humor". Edison offered a $10 a week raise over his US$18 per week salary, but he refused it and immediately resigned.

Hmmm...genius and pride...there's a combination. When he died he held well over 100 patents world-wide. Who are we talking about?? I have lots of clues, if you guys need them!!

Nancy.

Comments (19)

• thinman
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

This one is right up my alley, and I'll bet you a nickel that I know who it is.

TM

• aftermidnight Zone7b B.C. Canada
    11 years ago

I'm stumped, not the foggiest :(.

Annette

• cyn427 (z. 7, N. VA)
    11 years ago