Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
midnightsmum

Weekend Trivia ~ Saturday

Holy cow!! It is COLD!! They said we were going to have frost overnight, and they might have been right. Darn, so now, instead of weeding, I may be hauling my tenders inside today. Ah Summer, you're over too soon. Sigh.

Well, you know - these questions sometimes don't come easily. And when they do, it's easy come, easy go. I had a great idea yesterday, about 5 am. I thought, I should write that down when I get back from the washroom...no idea what it was, but it was great. I guarantee you.

So here is my feeble offering this week, born of desperation.

Do you like acronyms? I do. Words made up of the first letters of a phrase, like NASA, SCUBA or laser. They become a part of our lexicon. I was a travel agent for over 20 years, and I do miss that job. It doesn't exist anymore, but it was fun while it lasted. Code was a way of life, the way we spoke, and there are some airlines whose names are anagrams. How many can you guess? Hint: one, not even seasoned veterans get right very often.

1. B.O.A.C.

2. QANTAS

3. KLM - I'll take the English translation

4. SAS

5. L.I.A.T.

6. TWA

An unusual number to be sure. I'll be back with clues, if you smart guys need them!!

Nancy.

Comments (22)

• aftermidnight Zone7b B.C. Canada
    9 years ago

Not that easy peesy, I think I know 1, 2, and 6. The rest ?????.

Annette

• cyn427 (z. 7, N. VA)
    9 years ago

the only one I don't know is #5. I have a thought for the L and the I, but I am probably wrong.

Oh, and I have done the same thing in re: ideas! So irritating and I am sure it was a suberb question!!!

Cynthia

• midnightsmum (Z4, ON)
    Original Author
    9 years ago

L.I.A.T is a funny one - at least to me! I have flown it a couple of times, usually with some trepidation. The letters have a couple of humourous substitutions - Luggage In Another Terminal; Leave Island Any time - both sadly accurate!!

Nancy.

• thinman
    9 years ago