Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rockin_zappy

One or Two Colors only?

rockin_zappy
13 years ago

Hey folks, I'm just getting started on gardening and I'm busy planning my front perennial bed for spring/summer. I like so many things it's hard to narrow it down, so I had the idea to do a two-color scheme for the flowers and/or foliage. My favorite color is purple, so I decided to do different shades of purple accented with white and ivory. It's a part-shade area, and so far I have picked out some "Amethyst" astilbe, some purple and some white daylilies, and some purple Siberian iris. Also, Bluestone Perennials has this plant called Cimifuga, which I liked because it has dark-purple foliage and tall, spiky white flowers, and I thought it was very pretty. I could probably fit quite a few more plants in there as well, but I don't want it to get too overwhelming since I'm still a beginner.

So my question is, is this a stupid thing to do? Do I need more colors? Will too much purple and white make the individual plants less noticeable? Have any of you done a bed that was only one or two colors, and if so, how did it turn out?

Comments (13)

• girlgroupgirl
    13 years ago

Two colors if fine if that is what you like. It's about what you LIKE. I will say that too much purple in a shadier location will not always show up really well, especially if you like dark colors. However, you can certainly pull it off if you check to see where in your area plants with white or ivory flowers (or even variegated foliage) bloom with some purple plants. Place white behind the purple to show up the purple on a beautiful light background. That way the purple doesn't fade into the shadows.
    In the same way you are using two hue's of white (white and ivory) you could use various shades of purple- some brighter and some darker if you like that look.