Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oberci

New here! Some basic questions!

oberci
10 years ago

Hello all! I'm a pretty novice gardener and I'm excited to really start adding some more plants to the backyard garden. I realized cottage gardening is right up my alley style-wise although we shall see how well I can achieve the look!

Any tips on how to get started designing an area are much appreciated. What I find most daunting is leaving areas open for annuals/bulbs and those come and go sorts of plants. Whenever I see cottage gardens they always seem to be overflowing and I'm wondering how that effect is maintained once certain seasonal bloomers fade?

Watering: I have a drip irrigation ready to go...Do I just place a hose at the base of each and every plant?

Fertilizing: Does adding a layer of compost at the base of plants and continually replenishing often offer the plants enough food? Or is an application of fertilizer recommended as well? How is this achieved in a cottage garden where plants are often overlapping?

I so look forward to your comments! Thanks in avance :)

Comments (32)

• luckygal
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Welcome to Cottage Gardening, both the forum and the style!

As you've probably seen from pics no two cottage gardens are alike. So there is a lot of leeway in planning one.

First thing to think about is infrastructure which is pathways, hardscape, fencing, shape of beds, etc.

Second, I always recommend looking at your soil because that is the life-blood of your plants and there is no point paying good money for plants and expecting them to grow in less than good soil.

Whether compost will be enough for your soil and plants depends on the quality of soil you are starting with, the type of plants, as well as the quality of your compost. Is anything growing there now? What is the history of your garden?