Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweetannie4u

Build my own: Three-tiered Garden Fountain?

Annie
11 years ago

I wonder if I could build my own using two concrete bird baths, one larger than the other, and a small concrete container for the top.?

Not sure how I would run the water line, but I know I could use concrete repair mortar to stick them together.

Then, glaze it with a yellow-brown paint and antique it with dark brown, and seal it, so it looks like natural stone.
I'm an artist, so I know how to do that much.

Just not sure how to run the water line.
Anyone have any suggestions?

I KNOW there are several of you on here who are handy with this sort of thing.

Sure would be cheaper and easier to set up by myself.
Just wondering...

Comments (22)

• ianna
    11 years ago

I believe you know how to put together the fountain bath as you described. You can perhaps use a fountain kit with each own water reservoir for this plan. It's one of those which has a reservoir that can be buried or disguised. Like the ones used for pebble fountains. You may also plan to get a longer rubber tubing so you can thread this through the fountain components. I was thinking you'd be drilling a hole through the baths and making sure the concrete posts (or bannisters) have a hollow interior to allow water to course upwards and spill out the top platter over to the platter below and then finally spilling back into the reservoir.

I did something similar when I discovered a leaf shaped hypertufa dish (obviously molded form a large leaf) and we drilled a hole and set it atop a large terracota pot where I hid the fountain suction machine (can't remember the term) so water is continuously recycled. I had to use a clear tubing which I got from aquarium suppliers.

• thinman
    11 years ago