Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daisychain01_gw

zinnia help needed quickly please

daisychain01
12 years ago

Hi everyone,

I feel quite guilty popping in for help when I haven't been participating regularly, but I'm hoping you knowledgable folks can help me.

I'm a teacher at a school with an indoor greenhouse (attached permanently to the school). I run a small gardening program for students there. We recently planted a whole whack of zinnias just because I knew the kids would get a kick out of the bright colours.

When I heard the administrators were trying to come out with a cheap but lovely idea for centre pieces for a big school production, I offered our pots of zinnias for the tables. Now I'm freaking out that they won't bloom in time. It will be about 7 weeks from planting time to when we need them. Is this enough time? I hate to use commercial fertilizers, but maybe I should make an exception? Suggestions?

Thanks!

Comments (6)

• docmom_gw
    12 years ago

Have they germinated yet? And what kind of Zinnias did you plant? Tall or short? And how formal is this "Production" going to be? How appreciative will those attending be of a student-produce center piece? Even if they haven't bloomed yet, you could dress them up with some ribbon or small balloons and put a small sign on them explaining where they came from. Are the students going to take them home eventually, or will they be planted out on the school grounds at some point? How old are these students? All of these details would influence how I would approach this dilemma. Does that make sense? The attitudes of all involved toward the students, the production, extacurricular forms of education, etc will effect whether it's worth taking a risk that the flowers might not be gorgeous. Good luck. I think it's a great idea. I've not grown enough Zinnias to know how fast they'll grow--especially in a greenhouse in the sunshine of zone 3. Hopefully , some one more experienced will pipe in.

Martha